Blog Tour · Uncategorized

What challenges did Miranda Dickinson face while writing Searching For A Silver Lining?

miranda_047-compressorToday I have the absolutely fantastic Miranda Dickinson on the blog, talking about what challenges she faced while writing her new book, Searching For A Silver Lining! I’ll be reviewing the book really soon, and here is Miranda in her own words!

When I first started to write this book I thought it would be relatively easy to write. Mattie Bell and Reenie Silver meet, head off on their road trip and we see what happens when they try to reunite the singing group Reenie led in the 1950s. Straightforward, right?

Wrong! When I finished the first draft I found so many problems that needed fixing. For a start, Mattie and Reenie didn’t get on the road quickly enough, so the first third of the book dragged more than it should. Then there were the changes I’d made to the length of time they have to complete the road trip – from two weeks initially to a week and a half. I ended up sitting with a 2016 diary and physically marking the dates they would be on the road trip, so I didn’t miss everything.

The research was only challenging for me because there was so many details from the 1950s that I wanted to get right. I loved every minute of this part! From the gorgeous vintage items and clothing Mattie sells in her shop Bell Be-Bop to the history of British rock-n’roll to make Reenie’s reminiscences of life as a rising singing star with The Silver Five, every bit of information I found helped to enrich the story.

I think the biggest challenge I encountered while writing this book was the first big edit. So many areas needed work that I pulled the book to bits and built it again, rewriting around 70% of the original story. It was very scary and my confidence as a writer took a huge knock, but I think the hard work paid off. Searching for a Silver Lining is now the book I imagined writing at the beginning, where the pace is right, the mix of humour and drama is correct and every character in the story has earned their place. I’m immensely proud of this book and I can’t wait for everyone to finally read it!

Thanks so much for reading this blog exclusive! For more, follow my Searching for a Silver Lining blog tour. I really hope you enjoy Mattie’s story!

Searching For A Silver Lining by Miranda Dickinson is released on 20/10/2016 and you can buy it from Amazon now!Searching For A Silver Lining by Miranda Dickinson is released on 20/10/2016 and you can buy it from Amazon now!

Leave a Reply

